Advisory Board

Itinera is supported by an Advisory Board that reflects the main characteristics of the institute: professionalism, focus on Belgium, an international perspective, above and beyond the boundaries of political parties and interest groups. Members of the Advisory Board are leaders in various fields.

Diane Verstraeten

Former Secretary-General of the Departement Internationaal Vlaanderen in the Government of Flanders.

Baron Peter Piot

Director and Professor of General Health Policy at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
Former Director of UNAIDS.
Former Under Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Baroness Mia Doornaert

Former journalist for De Standaard and independent consultant for the Leterme Cabinet.

Dirk Brossé

Internationally recognised orchestra conductor and composer.

Günter Burghardt

Former Chief of Staff of the former Chair of the European Commission, Jacques Delors.
Former Political Director of the European Commission.
Former Director-General for External Relations.
Former EU ambassador to the U.S..

Viscount Etienne Davignon

Former Member of the European Commission.
Vice-Chairman of Suez-Tractebel and Umicore.
Member of the Board of Directors of several companies and institutions.

Herman De Bode

Former Director at McKinsey & Co. Belgium.
Advises managers of public and private companies on issues of strategic, organisational and operational issues.

Mark Eyskens

Former MP, Minister and Prime Minister.
Professor Emeritus of Economics at the Catholic University of Leuven (KUL).
Versatile author and political commentator.

Bernard Foccroulle

Internationally renowned organist.
General Director of the Mint.
Chairman of Opera Europa.

Michel Hansenne

Former Minister in various regional and federal governments in Belgium.
Director General of the International Labour Organisation.

Philippe Herreweghe

Prominent orchestra conductor.
Artistic director and founder of Collegium Vocale and La Chapelle Royale.

John Monks

General Secretary of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC).
Visiting professor at the Business School of the University of Manchester.

Jim O’Neill

Head of Global Economic Research Division of Goldman Sachs (since 2001).
Holds a PhD from the University of Surrey.
Analyst and economic researcher at leading financial institutions.

André Oosterlinck

Honorary Rector of the Catholic University of Leuven.
Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering (ESAT).
Chairman of the Association KULeuven.
Serves on the Board of Directors of several companies.

Frits Schuitema

CEO of Philips Belgium.
Has had a long international career in Asia, Central America, Africa and the headquarters of Philips.
Serves on the Board of Directors of football club PSV Eindhoven.
Holds several other positions in companies and charitable organisations.

Leonard Shrank

Former Director-General of Swift from 1992 to 2007.
President of the American Chamber of Commerce in Belgium.
Director of the United Fund for Belgium.
Member of the Advisory Board of Promethee, a think-tank based in Paris.
Vice-President of the MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Club in Belgium.

Piet Steel

Vice-President External Affairs at Toyota Motor Europe.
President of the Belgium-Hong Kong Society. Former Belgian diplomat as Consul in Hong Kong and as Ambassador of Belgium in Vietnam.
Was Director of Public Affairs for Solvay.

Jacques-François Thisse

Professor of Economics at the Université Catholique de Louvain.
Director of the Centre for Operational Research and Economics (CORE).
Expert in the economics of land use planning and in the industrial economy.
Held the Francqui Chair in 1999-2000 and was a visiting professor at several major universities abroad.
Expert for the World Bank and the European Investment Bank (EIB).


Luc Vansteenkiste

Was chairman of the Federation of Enterprises in Belgium (FEB).
Manager of the Year in Belgium in 2000.
CEO of Recticel.

Catherine Verfaillie

Professor of Medicine.
Deputy Director of the Stem Cell Institute at the University of Minnesota.
Director of the Stem Cell Institute at the Catholic University of Leuven.